What happens when we die?

Do you ever wonder: what happens when we die?  Have you ever been around someone who takes their last breath?  The first image that comes to mind when I think of death is Bone Thugs-n-Harmony’s “Crossroads” song.  I know, my 1990s is showing.

I’ve had a few friends pass away during my lifetime and a few recently. Every time I lose another friend or acquaintance, I think about what happens to them and all the possibilities.  If they are particularly close friends, I’ll have dreams with them and we’ll just be hanging out, or doing something mundane.  During the dream, it’ll feel so real and so natural, that it will not occur to me to ask them, “Hey, you died already!  How am I seeing you?”  It’s only after I wake up and have to remind myself that they have passed away and the feeling of sadness overcomes me.

What actually happens when we die?  Aside from the physical aspect of course.  What happens to our minds, our consciousness?  If you read stories about people who have died and come back, the majority of them feel a sense of peace, lightness or similar to slipping into a very comfortable sleep.  Some people say they see a light, or will see loved ones who have already passed.  Is seeing your loved ones who have past, your brain being delirious and depraved of oxygen, or are you actually being welcomes into the afterlife by loved ones?

There are many theories as to what happens after we die and I’ve read a few and I’ll share with you the one I ascribe to the most.  There is a theory out there that after we die, we leave our earthly bodies, and our spirits go into another realm.  There, you are united with your loved ones, ones you may not even met or remember meeting, but they’re all kin to you somehow.  I’d like to think past pets will also be there, since they are such a big part of our lives.  While you’re there, you’re reviewing what you have learned in the life that you had most recently lived on earth.  You’ll be able to recall previous lives as well to see your progression or repeat of certain events/traits.  Sometimes, you’re able to come back to this world and communicate with people.

I work with a lady, let’s call her Sally, whose mother died when she was 7 months pregnant with her son, let’s call him Brian.  Sally remembers one particular dinner when Brian was two years old.  Brian was looking to his left and appeared as if he was speaking to someone.  To his left was the dining room wall.  Sally asked her daughter, Kelly, who was 5 at the time, “Who is Brian talking to?”  Kelly looked at Brian and answered, “He’s talking to Grandma.”  Remember, Brian was still in Sally’s womb when Grandma passed away, so he never met his Grandmother.  Sally asked if Kelly talked to Grandma and Kelly said, “Not really.  I don’t see her anymore.”

It’s possible that Kelly had made it up, but keep in mind, she’s four years old and this was the first time Sally was hearing that her children had been communicating with her mother.  It is said that children can see spirits because they have not yet closed off their minds, as most people have been taught.  How many children have imaginary friends that may be a friend from the spirit world?

Sure, the children could be making all of this up, but what if they aren’t?  What if we can come back to certain people that we love after we die?  I’d like to think my friends who have passed away have come to visit me when I dream about them, but I guess I won’t find out until it’s time for me to go.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nice read! And blessed experiences. I’ve had a similar experience with my younger daughter (2 yr) who once looked up at the mirror and when I asked her what she was looking at, she said the name of my late friend, who she never knew and she never ever heard this name before from me or anyone else, since this is a very unique name.
    I’m sure as children we’re still connected to the source. We even have this fontanel that is open when we’re born and gradually locks up, closing the pineal gland, which is believed to be the seat of the consciousness.
    I have had similar dreams of my soulmate who passed on a bit more than a year ago, but on top of these I’ve also developed my skills to have lucid dreams, where I do realise that I’m dreaming and am able to pull this friend into the dream and spend time with him. I have also been able to project my consciousness (myself) into the astral plane, where I’ve felt his presence as an energy, and this has reassured me once and for all that we are more than our physical bodies and that there is life after death in the form of energy. And it’s beautiful!
    Namaste!

    Like

Leave a Reply

