Seattle to Paris on Delta Comfort December 2016 

So excited to be in Paris. This is one of my favorite cities in the world. Mainly because it’s so charming, the people are friendly and I’m sure I give the French something to laughed at when I attempt speaking. More on this wonderful city later. Let’s talk about getting here. 

We flew direct to Paris from Seattle on Delta Comfort, which wasn’t as terrible as I thought it would be. I say that because in my experience American carriers pale in comparison to their european airline counterparts. 

First thing is first, getting to the airport, SeaTac. My husband and I were taking carry on items only, and we have TSA pre-check so we showed up 90 minutes before our flight and grabbed a bite to eat, which was sufficient. While eating at the food court, this guy showed up. 

Not sure who he is, but he sure did bring cheer to everyone. I saw a couple other characters at the airport. Good job SeaTac. 

When we got to the gate, they called our names to do check our passports since we checked in online. Most carriers have a separate security check when you drop off your bags, but if you don’t check bags, they check your passport at the gate. They also check your passport when you board. This is mostly a CYA, since airlines want to avoid transporting the wrong passenger. 

When you fly Delta Comfort, you get to board right after first class and you get a few extra inches of leg room. If you’re 5’3 like me, it’s not a big deal, but if you’re 6’4 like my husband it’s the difference between life and death, for your legs. Here’s the where it was worth it. 

My husband’s legs are grazing the seat in front of him and mine barely pass the length of the seat. 

Goodies. Not even sure if I should call it this, considering economy gets the same items. Every seat gets a sleep mask, ear plugs and a tooth brush and toothpaste. Then the flight attendants walk by with a basket handing out the same items. I’m confused, but maybe I need two sleep masks for this flight. 

Food & drinks. 

One of my favorite topics. In international flights, in Delta Comfort (could be the same for economy) the alcoholic drinks are free. Yes, drink up folks, it’s a long flight. 

First up is dinner. We had a choice between a chicken salad, stuffed chicken and eggplant lasagna. Chicken is my go to meat, so chose the stuffed chicken and my husband chose the chicken salad. 

Stuffed chicken. Not sure what it was stuffed with, but it was pretty good and came with a side of mashed potatoes. 

Here’s the chicken salad with strawberries, feta, and walnuts. 

Both dinners came with a side salad (fruit of the salad was your entree), three shrimp + cocktail sauce, a dinner roll + butter, Tillamook Colby cheese, some crackers and a sea salt chocolate brownie. That’s a lot of food and I ate it all. 

Throughout the flight the come around with trays of cups of water, which is great for staying hydrated throughout the flight. 

A few hours later, comes a snack. We had a turkey and cheese sandwich and Milano chocolate cookies. 

Right before you land, they serve breakfast, which is surprisingly delicious. There’s a small carton of orange juice, vanilla Greek yogurt, orange marmalade spread, Tillamook medium cheddar cheese, and a Cranberry and orange bread roll. It’s simple, tasty and filling. 

All in all, was it worth the extra couple hundred for Delta Comfort? Yes, if you want some more room for your legs and I didn’t feel bad reclining my chair a small amount since it wasn’t like the back of my chair was in their face. If I were traveling alone, I don’t think I would have sprung for the extra room, but it’s a must if you’re tall and /or have exceptionally long femurs. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Really hope you are enjoying the most romantic city in the world!
    Its cold and hope you dressed warm for it

    Like

    1. Thank you! Paris is one of my favorite cities in the world and we’re so happy to be here. Luckily it’s the same weather we have in Seattle so wardobing wasn’t too stressful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

