Trish Mcevoy The Power of Makeup Planner Review

Last month I was at the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale and I was convinced into buying the Trish Mcevoy The Power of Makeup Planner.  I was looking at a Smashbox cheek and eye palette, but there was no one there, and their counter neighbor, Trish Mcevoy stepped in.  She was very helpful and I had mentioned I was going out of town soon and needed some “portable” makeup, hence the palette.  Her eyes lit up and she asked if I had heard about Trish Mcevoy’s Makeup Planner.  I had not and I am all for learning about new things, especially about things that can help make my life easier.  It’s $195 and has $505 worth of product and hardware included.  Normally, I wouldn’t spend this amount of money willy nilly, but I had $220 worth of Nordstrom Notes, so I figured what the heck.

Here’s what you get in the planner:

Hardware & Micellany

  •  Makeup Planner in limited-edition Laser-Cut Nude
  •  Refillable Double-Decker Makeup Wardrobing® Compact
  •  Petite Makeup Wardrobing® Page
  •  Pencil Sharpener
  •  Lash Curling Mascara (0.18 oz.)
  •  Translucent Finishing Powder (0.17 oz.)
  •  Sexy 9 Blackberry & Vanilla Musk Enriched Hand Cream (1 oz.)

Swatch 1:

  •  Eye Base Essentials in Pink Bare (0.09 oz.)
  •  Instant Eye Lift (0.09 oz.)
  •  Beauty Booster® Lip and Cheek Color in Perfect Rose (0.08 oz.)
  •  New, exclusive Ultra-Wear Lip Gloss in Perfect Nude (0.1 oz.)
  •  Intense Gel Eyeliner in Deep Aubergine (0.04 oz.)

Swatch 2

  • – Eyeshadow in Nude (0.05 oz.)
  • – Eyeshadow in Toffee (0.05 oz.)
  • – Shimmer Eyeshadow in Mauve Lamé (0.06 oz.)
  • – Eye Definer in Paris Nights (0.06 oz.)
  • – Bronzer in Weekend (0.28 oz.)
  • – Blush in Pink Glow (0.1 oz.)

That’s 17 pieces for $195.  The cheap Asian in me is thinking: 195/17 = ~11.50 per item.  That’s not bad, considering the planner is $78 alone.  Let’s move down the list, starting with the planner.

Hardware & Micellany

Planner.  The anniversary edition of the planner is this beautiful nude color with a large sturdy gold zipper.  I prefer it to the original quilted kind.

Wardrobing items.  Wardrobing items are empty magnetized vessels to fill with makeup pans.

The Good: Trish makes all of their pans rectangular or square, which are compatible in measurements to their wardrobes.  Very convenient if you love her pans.  The combinations are endless and you get to decide what you like.  The refillable double decker makeup wardrobing compact is great for taking your products on the go.  You can put a foundation in the bottom container and the blush and a few eyeshadows or the translucent powder on the top.  The petite makeup wardrobing page fits into the two-ring binder in the planner as lets you open it, apply makeup and not spread out too much outside of the bounds of the makeup planner.  Keeps everything in order in a small place, which is perfect for traveling, or even everyday.  Who wants to be opening up 5+ compacts when they can open one?  Time and space saver check.

The Bad: Since Trish makes these wardrobes specific to her line, you might feel like you’re trapped only buying her products from now on.  Her makeup pans are square and rectangle, which fit perfectly in her wardrobes, but if you want to use your favorites that are not Trish, it could be a challenge since most pans are round.

Pencil sharpener.  Generic pencil sharpener with Trish’s name on it.  Unfortunately it doesn’t come with a cover for the shavings, so you best have a trashcan and something to wipe the makeup shavings off, or else it’ll get all over your planner and other items.

Lash Curling Mascara.  This is the product that Trish seems to be most famous for.  It uses a tubing method, so it coats your lashes in “tubes” and it comes off super easily when you wash your face.  I use a cheaper version with the same technology from Blinc.

Translucent finishing powder.  Standard finishing powder, though make sure you use a light hand, otherwise you might end up with white patches on your face.

Sexy 9 vanilla and blackberry scented hand cream.  I have sensitive skin, so I try to avoid fragranced products, but this smells amazing!  It’s a perfect combination of delicious, refreshing and rich.  Yes, you read that correctly, it smells like wealth.  Even though I have sensitive skin, I still use this on occasion.  The rash I get is totally worth the scent.  Speaking of scents, they have a parfume of this, and it smells divine.  If they come out with a smaller size, I would purchase since it takes so long for me to use up fragrance.

Swatch 1 : Eye base, concealer, lip and gel liner

In order of appearance:

  •  Eye Base Essentials in Pink Bare (0.09 oz.)
  •  Instant Eye Lift (0.09 oz.)
  •  Beauty Booster® Lip and Cheek Color in Perfect Rose (0.08 oz.)
  •  New, exclusive Ultra-Wear Lip Gloss in Perfect Nude (0.1 oz.)
  •  Intense Gel Eyeliner in Deep Aubergine (0.04 oz.)

Both the eye base and the concealer (Instant Eye Lift) have pink undertones.  I have yellow undertones.  I paid for it, so I will continue to use them.  So far it has not been a huge issue, mostly because I’m putting color over the eye base and I mix the concealer with my foundation.  No problem.The eye base is a little chunky and dry.  It does dry to a matte finish, perhaps it is intentional to give your eye a smooth canvas to use.

The lip and cheek color in perfect rose is a very faint nude color.  In fact, I can’t even see it on my lips, but it gives a subtle sheen to my cheeks.  I prefer powder over blushes.  I never got the hang of cream blushes.

The gloss has a vanilla flavor with some sparkles in the formula.  It provides a sheen and feel moisturizing.  Not sure if I would repurchase since I prefer the CO Bigelow mentha lip shines over high end brands.

Finally, the gel liner is pretty spectacular.  It’s very soft, highly pigmented and it sets pretty quickly.  I haven’t figured out how to smudge my eyeliner without giving myself raccoon eyes.

Swatch 2 : eyeshadows, bronzer and blush

Here are the shades in order of appearance:

  •  Eyeshadow in Nude (0.05 oz.)
  •  Eyeshadow in Toffee (0.05 oz.)
  •  Shimmer Eyeshadow in Mauve Lamé (0.06 oz.)
  •  Eye Definer in Paris Nights (0.06 oz.)
  •  Bronzer in Weekend (0.28 oz.)
  •  Blush in Pink Glow (0.1 oz.)

The eyeshadows aren’t very pigmented.  The reason for this, is to be able to build layers.  I’m impatient and don’t want to spend a lot of time getting ready in the morning, so they are not my favorite eyeshadows.  I feel like since I’m using so many layers that I get a patchy application.  I’m no makeup guru, so this could easily be a user error.  The bronzer is versatile, it’s good for contouring and I use it as an eyeshadow color, since the toffee color isn’t barely visible on my skin.  The blush is one of those colors that will look good on everyone and I find I only need a little on my brush.  The color reminds me of Nars’s Orgasm, which compliments basically everyone.

The Verdict

All in all the makeup planner is a useful tool.  Though, mine looks a bit different from the original.  I switched out the petitie wardrober for the large one and have depotted my favorites and inserted them.

Trish.MakeupPlanner.Counter

The Good.

It’s compact, stylish and easy to transport.  I took it on a week long trip to the Southeast, and it kept everything in order and all I had to do was zip it up, put it in my backpack and I was ready to go.  I wasn’t opening a bunch of compacts and digging around in a makeup bag looking for my blush, or eyeshadows.

The Bad.

Since the size of this planner is pretty compact, it only holds my makeup and applicators, it doesn’t hold my skincare products.  Maybe that’s a sign I need to pare down my products?

All of the products aren’t to my liking, the eyeshadows aren’t very pigmented, so it takes a while to get some color on your eyelids. and the primer and concealer are pink toned, and I’m more of a yellow undertone girl.  The fact that you have to buy the entire set and you can’t just buy the nude planner alone (it’s a Nordstrom Anniversary special) is kind of a bummer, especially if you’re not a big Trish makeup fan.  Also, this is built to keep you as a Trish exclusive customer.  If Trish products aren’t your holy grail, then it’s not that exciting, but I do have a workaround for that.

It doesn’t hold double ended brushes inside the brush pocket.  I can’t bear to part with one double ended brush, but if you don’t have any, keep it that way.  It makes things way easier.

Who this would work for.

This would work for a person who has a pretty solid simple makeup routine down that wants to keep everything in a compact organizer.  It is not for the person who travels with a full carry-on full of makeup.  Even though I’m not completely thrilled with all of Trish’s products that came with this set, that doesn’t mean you can’t fill it with all of your favorites.  Like I did.  Since filling it with my faves, I use it every day and I LOVE IT.  I’m not opening multiple drawers in my bathroom or searching through a sea of compacts.  I unzip this planner, open the wardrobe and it takes up very little space on my bathroom counter. Here’s all of my stuff I put inside.  That yellow egg-shaped thing is my beauty blender case, not just some creepy plastic yellow egg that I carry around.

Trish.MakeupPlanner.MyStuff

 

Leave a Reply

